Skinning the Invisible Knapsack, Part 5 of 5

1280px-chrysler_building_midtown_manhattan_new_york_city_1932

Among schoolgoys, there is a rather vindictive prank one can do to a classmate who has left his backpack or bookbag unattended, known as skinning. The bag is emptied of its contents, turned inside out, and then zipped back up with all of its contents inside.

In 1988, Peggy McIntosh published one of the seminal works in the far-left dominated academic field which has come to be called “Whiteness Studies” in a number of circles. “White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack,” is an excerpt taken from a working paper produced by the women’s studies department of Wellesley College, and lists 50 “daily effects of white privilege” in the first-person perspective of the author from her experiences. Though McIntosh tried to cover herself by claiming her examples shouldn’t be generalized, her work is obviously not read that way in the identity politics dominated Obama years. If even some of these privileges existed in the 1980s, you would be hard pressed to find them now. A sacred text of the anti-white/third worldist/regressive left, Invisible Knapsack could use a good skinning. Here is a critical assessment of privileges 41-50.

  1. I can be sure that if I need legal or medical help, my race will not work against me.

Well to be fair, I could see this being an issue for illegal mestizo immigrants or inner-city black crime suspects, both of which took steps to put themselves in bad situations. So in general, yes, if my paperwork is in order and I don’t signal that I might have trouble paying I should be fine.

  1. I can arrange my activities so that I will never have to experience feelings of rejection owing to my race.

Dialing back to the beginning of McIntosh’s list, this is another money issue. Living in a homogenous White community is expensive. And that is really the only way to avoid this, especially for children, who do not control the circumstances of their upbringing.

  1. If I have low credibility as a leader I can be sure that my race is not the problem.

I am sure some leftist somewhere has a canned explanation ready about how people with White privilege make bad leaders due to innate inertia or ignorance. What we really need to do is replace most White leaders, because equality. After all, we are repeatedly told that companies with ethnically or racially diverse leadership perform better. What implies of course, is that White leadership is bad. In other words, group A is better than group B. You can only say negative things about Whites as a group. Imagine if you tried to argue why people of color make bad leaders…

  1. I can easily find academic courses and institutions which give attention only to people of my race.

I think now even areas of European history are getting rewritten to focus on non-Europeans, to say nothing of the various “x studies” departments in the universities. The 1980s must have been swell. Now if there is any academic focus on Whites, it is probably from a hostile perspective, e.g. the anti-white education platform of blacklivesmatter.

  1. I can expect figurative language and imagery in all of the arts to testify to experiences of my race.

I am just going to repeat my answer to privilege 6, which was about representation on television and in print.

>I can expect to see people of my race criticized for being represented at all, let alone widely represented. In fact, I can expect to see people celebrate the replacement of actors of Whiteness or of White roles with non-white ones, e.g. the widely-acclaimed Hamilton musical, diversity in comics, etc. Meanwhile the 2016 movie Gods of Egypt was widely condemned as racist for casting White people as North African deities.

  1. I can chose [sic] blemish cover or bandages in “flesh” color and have them more or less match my skin.

Wow, dark-skinned people are living in a nightmare. Just get the bandages with Scooby-Doo on them or something. Truly we live in an oppressive caste society.

  1. I can travel alone or with my spouse without expecting embarrassment or hostility in those who deal with us.

Depends where you go, obviously.

  1. I have no difficulty finding neighborhoods where people approve of our household.

Again, this depends where you go. If you move into a non-white neighborhood, that’s gentrification and considered immoral. But if you move out of a non-white neighborhood, that’s White flight and also immoral.

  1. My children are given texts and classes which implicitly support our kind of family unit and do not turn them against my choice of domestic partnership.

I hope so. But it’s not 1980 anymore, and we can’t count on society to instruct us to practice heterosexual monogamy as the ideal family. Never mind that such family units are the building blocks of civilization and required for its continuity—it would be bigoted to support them as ideal when there are all these other alternative lifestyles that need to be viewed as equal. Because if all lifestyles aren’t treated equally that would be bad.

  1. I will feel welcomed and “normal” in the usual walks of public life, institutional and social.

I will be told I am unimportant and on the way out as a cultural and political force, that my experiences are inauthentic relative to those who embody “struggle,” and that my personal interests are problematic. I will be condemned for taking my own side. Or I can cuck and be accepted as an ally.

Well, that’s a wrap. All fifty points of petulant whining shot down by our trademark TRS snark and wit. The next time you see someone spouting anti-white nonsense about privilege, combine rhetoric with hatefacts and shut it down.

See also: PART 1, PART 2, PART3, PART4

This entry was posted in Ideology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Skinning the Invisible Knapsack, Part 5 of 5

  1. Jason Lowe says:

    I think #48 was talking more about non-whites being slobs and the insides of their houses looking like crack dens, where as white households are clean and well kept, but great article as usual!

    Like

  2. Steel T Post says:

    RE: #47.

    Trump Supporter Knocked Unconscious by Protester at Portland International Airport
    http://www.breitbart.com/video/2017/01/31/trump-supporter-knocked-unconscious-by-protester-at-portland-international-airport/

    Like

  3. Gee lady, my invisible knapsack is full of reasons to ignore you. White Privilege is just being smart, and not stupid. That’s why far-East Asians and people who don’t believe your lies about History have it too. You can cry about dead slaves in America, but you carefully ignore the slave trade going on now in Africa after the White Man and his laws left. Why is that bitch? I think we all know now.

    Like

  4. King George III says:

    >non-ironically fisking argumentum ad liberalism

    this series is pretty effortpostish tbh

    Like

  5. Michael Adkins says:

    Clearly, we need to start protecting our children. I believe the only long term solution is to build a genetic wall.

    Like

  6. Pingback: This Week in Reaction (2017/02/05) - Social Matter

  7. Ironsides says:

    Hope everything’s okay with you — haven’t seen a post or even a tweet in quite a while now.

    We need our eloquent and entertaining blogging genius!

    Like

  8. Ironsides says:

    Looks like the Centurion has hung up his keyboard. Does anyone have these articles saved for posterity, so when the site goes off the air they’ll still be available somewhere?

    Like

Leave a Reply

